President’s Message

President’s Message



Since 1928, the Junior League of Greensboro has been a community catalyst funding projects and programs, training and empowering volunteer leaders to work throughout the community and offering opportunities to all to engage in service. Our missionis three-fold: promoting voluntarism, developing the potential of women, and improving the community through the effective action and leadership of trained volunteers. This training that the League provides through its community programs is truly unique among nonprofits.

I encourage you to visit the history section of the website to learn about the wide array of Junior League projects from helping to start the Gateway Education Center to hosting the annual Women’s Leadership Summit and more recently our gift of The Junior League Reading Room at LeBauer Park. Even if you are familiar with the Greensboro Science Center, Family Service of the Piedmont, and the Greensboro Pharmacy, you may not have realized that these were all started as service projects of the Junior League of Greensboro.

During the 2018–2019 year, we will continue our existing annual fundraisers Touch a Truck, Women’s Leadership Summit, Little Black Dress Initiative, as well as our training program in partnership with the Bryan School of Business and Economics at UNCG: Women to Watch (W2W). Our thrift store (and longest ongoing fundraiser), the Bargain Box, is located at 1410 Mill Street. Please visit the Bargain Box for great deals on clothing for men, women, and children. All proceeds from the Bargain Box fund our mission.

The Junior League of Greensboro strives to meet the greatest unmet needs in our community. Our current focus area is aging. Our members will be volunteering in the community this year in the areas of food assistance, fraud prevention, housing improvements, and park accessibility improvements, in order to enable seniors to age in place in our community for as long as possible. We are also partnering with the AARP to help with planning work for the Age-Friendly Guilford Initiative, which was passed by the Guilford County Commissioners in April 2018.

Our passionate volunteers work so hard to make these projects a reality, but we could not do it without our supporters. We are so appreciative of the great partnerships with individuals, companies and organizations in our community that are integral to the success of our work.

If you have any questions or would like additional information about our organization or how you can become involved as a sponsor, please visit our Contact Us Page. Thank you again for visiting. We hope you will join us as we continue to fulfill our legacy as #WomenBuildingBetterCommunities.


Christon Halkiotis

President, 2018–2019


Past Presidents

This slideshow requires JavaScript.